The mission of the Delaware Heritage Commission is to celebrate the history and heritage of Delaware, which it has been doing since it was formed as the Delaware American Revolution Bicentennial Commission in 1972.

Per Senate Concurrent Resolution #38 passed on June 30th, 2010, the Commission is to "undertake the state's official observance of the 150th Anniversary of the Civil War with various events and publications during the anniversary period, 2011-2015."

Working closely with the Heritage Commission, the Civil War Sesquicentennial Planning Committee is responsible for the development and execution of key duties associated with the sesquicentennial's observance.


Terrence Wright, Committee Chair, Delaware Heritage Commission
Debbie Haskell, Executive Director Emerita, Delaware Heritage Commission
Kay Wood Bailey, Central Delaware Civil War Roundtable
John Clements, Interested Volunteer
Mike Connolly, Executive Director, New Castle Historical Society
Florence Davis, New Castle Historical Society
Ann Happolt, Central Delaware Civil War Roundtable
Gen. (Ret.) Francis Ianni, Delaware Heritage Commission
Leslie Kipp, Wilmington Civil War Roundtable
Laura Lee, Fort Delaware
Antoinette Maccari, Delaware Historical Society
Jim Neal, Lincoln Club of Delaware
David Price, Ft. Delaware Society, Central Delaware Civil War Rountable
Bill Purdy, 2nd Delaware Regiment
Tom Reed, Former Professor, Widener Law School, Wilmington Civil War Roundtable
Harvey B. Rubenstein, Esq., Delaware Heritage Commission
Bradley Skelcher, Assistant Provost, Delaware State University
Robert M. Stark, PhD, Delaware Heritage Commission
Bobbie Steele, Ft. Delaware Society
Jack Witzman, Ft. Delaware Society, Wilmington Civil War Roundtable
Syl Woolford, Interested Volunteer


Richard B. Carter, Chair
Reba Hollingsworth, PhD, Vice Chair
Debbie Haskell, Executive Director Emerita
Robert L. Byrd
Gen. (Ret.) Francis A. Ianni
Walton A. Johnson, Jr.
The Hon. Walter (Ed) Kee
Cheyenne Luzader, MS
Russell McCabe
Michael L. Richards
Harvey B. Rubenstein, Esq.
Jonathan Russ, PhD
Jean Ramsey Smith
Robert M. Stark, PhD
Christian D. Wright, Esq.
Terrence Wright

See Upcoming Events & Happenings